Get me away
from this site!

Gloucestershire Domestic Abuse Support Service

01452 726 570 support@gdass.org.uk

Staying safe online

If you are experiencing domestic abuse, we recommend that you cover your tracks online by deleting your browsing history and customising your privacy settings on social media.

Private browsing

Most modern web browsers have a private browsing mode. Browsing the web with this enabled stops history, cookies and login details from being stored for that session.

We recommend that you enable private browsing mode in your browser when you are visiting websites that you do not want the perpetrator to find.

Enabling private browsing

Internet Explorer

To access private browsing mode in Internet Explorer (called InPrivate Browsing), click the gear icon in the top-right corner, then select Safety > InPrivate Browsing.

Chrome

To access private browsing mode in Google Chrome (called Incognito Mode), click the menu icon in the top-right corner, then select New Incognito Window.

Firefox

To access private browsing mode in Firefox, click the menu icon in the top-right corner, then select New Private Window.

Safari

To access private browsing mode in Safari, click File in the top-left corner, then select New Private Window.

Deleting your history

Always remember that your computer history will show the websites you have visited.

To delete pages from your history, go through your web browser settings, choose history, and right-click on the sites individually to delete them.

Deleting the full history may appear suspicious.

This method only prevents someone from immediately being able to see the webpage you have visited. Your browsing history is stored on your computer and can be made available by various computer programs and/or agencies, including the police.

Social media

Facebook

How to block someone from contacting you:

  • Choose ‘privacy shortcuts’, this is the second icon in from the right on the blue bar at the top of your browser.
  • Choose ‘How do I stop someone from bothering me?’
  • Write email address or user name in the box – select ‘Block’

Blocking someone prevents them from being able to view your page or searching for you from their username or email address. They will be able to search from someone else’s account if they want to.

General privacy/security settings:

  • ‘Privacy shortcuts’ – ‘See more settings’
  •  This then allows you to stop people being able to find you if they ‘Google’ you and choose who can add you as a friend.
  • Select ‘Security’ from the left hand list
  •  This allows you to choose your security settings for your profile.

Twitter

General privacy/security settings:

  • Choose the icon second in from the right on the main toolbar, ‘settings’.
  • Choose ‘Security and Privacy’ from the list of options on the left hand side of the page.
  • The ‘settings’ icon, as above, also allows you to select to deactivate your account at the bottom of the page.

Do not accept friend requests from someone you do not know, even if they share mutual friends.

Ensure that Location Settings are turned off on your phone. Updating your social networking with these on will alert your followers/friends as to where you are. Location settings vary phone to phone, please check your manual if you are not sure how to do this.